top of page

Where the Dark Stands Still Book Review

Because we need more Polish fantasy stories out there.




Song Vibe Check:

  1. "Mad World" By: 2WEI and Fleurie

  2. "Never enough" By: AViVA

  3. "Let them in" By: PVRIS


NOTE: Thanks to NCTE's exhibition hall and the publisher for an ARC of this one!


I like to usually consider myself well-versed in the upcoming books in YA across different genres, always setting out to make sure I'm up to date on things, but when this title came across my line of vision last November, I hadn't heard much buzz and am so pleased to hear that more and more reviewers are getting to this book. As the gothic re-imagining of Howl's Moving Castle with some beauty and the beast vibes, I have come to report back on how much I devoured this tale and how I will definitely keep my eyes peeled for more work from this author!


Short Summary: A cursed girl makes a deal with the demon in the spirit wood to remove her magic, but it turns out that it might be the one thing that can save her from the darkness-- and that perhaps it is time to embrace becoming the monster the villagers called her.


I think in all my time of reading books, I had not encountered a Polish tale. I have read some polish characters, but not a full Polish tale and I found myself marveling at the details, the vivid imagery, and the Leszy (such a beautiful word, like I was honestly letting that name roll off my tongue every time his name appeared in the book) and I found myself enjoying the gothic nature of it, the way it felt like curling up into a good book with a warm blanket and coffee, just letting myself get lost in reading, forgetting the time (for the most part!)


This is the book I ran to text my close friends to, letting them know that THIS was the book they needed on their radar and trust me on this one, it is absolutely one of my new favorites for the year!!


Overall: 5/5 stars

bottom of page