top of page

Dungeons and Drama

Because we need a more dungeons and dragons stories out there.




Song Vibe Check:

  1. "Lush Life" By: Zara Larsson

  2. "100 ways" By: Jackson Wang

  3. "Slow Dance" By: AJ Mitchell, Ava Max


NOTE: Thanks to Netgalley for the early copy!


Time flies and while I am a bit late to post my review on this one, we definitely need to discuss how much we need more books about Dungeons and Dragons along with romance because honestly, I love it and need more of these sorts of stories in my life.


Short Summary: a drama student who ends up working at her father's board game shop accidentally ropes on a D&D player to be her fake boyfriend in an attempt to get her ex-boyfriend jealous and his crush jealous. But what happens when the game becomes real for them?


Honestly, there are so many things I would love to comment on like I am not very well-versed in musicals (I have only seen Hamilton, an Italian version of Cinderella when I was younger, and the Sound of Music) but apart from that, I can't exactly relate to the passion she had for it. I can relate to the colorful outfits as my own wardrobe is colorful, but honestly, Riley did these things were she wore mis-matched outfits on purpose and while yes, I love it and I do it too sometimes, they seemed too bright for me?


Funny that it comes from someone who wears lots of bright colors too, but anyway. The real gem in this book is not her, but Nathan. GOODNESS NATHAN. I loved him, since his first moment as the initial grumpy dude who was accused of being a thief when Riley didn't know that he worked there instantly won me over and I found myself really drawn to the smooth way he accidentally won her over and realizing the girl he had a crush on would never actually like him for who he is, but for the money. As we get to see their romance unfold in their dungeons and dragon games and outside of it, it was a light-hearted, fluffy tale that brought a smile to my face. I still need to get to someday trying to play the game in the near or far future.


Overall: 4/5 stars

bottom of page