top of page

Immortality: A Book Review

Because I apparently did not have enough of the last tragedy.




Song Vibe Check:


  1. "Funeral" By: Rachel Lorin

  2. "Don't leave me lonely" By: Clean Bandit & Elley Duhe

  3. "Promets-moi" By: Angele


Yes, a book two has been made.


In my last review of Anatomy: a love story, I do remember it being one of the books that dragged out for quite some time and had the most disappointint ending ever. I was supposed to be hopeful by that book 1 ending, but I was not. I was PISSED that I had gone through the 200+ pages of what felt like extremely clinical writing that made me not really care about the wannabe surgeon and her corpse stealing boyfriend.


Not to mention that I wanted Bernard turned into a corpse too. But despite everything, when I heard that there was a second book, I did have my eyes peeled out not because I like to torture myself with bad books, but because I was hoping that the duology would redeem itself in the second book.


Also, it's a pretty creative cover.


Ladies and Gentlemen... I'm happy to report that it did get better. Hazel is still creepily clinical and detached from her emotions which scares me, but the story seemed to flow a lot better this time around. So, before I plunge into the conclusion of this duology, we'll go through the usual.



Short Summary: Our wannabe surgeon is finally one, but after helping conduct an illegal abortion, she ends up in jail and saved to be the royal physician of Princess Charlotte where all that glitters isn't gold and where love and immortality, can come... at a cost.


Long Summary: Hazel refuses to believe that the immortality potion from her former mentor Beecham exists. And yet, a part of her wonders if her Jack may still be alive, but all that keeps her heart beating now is saving lives of those who are in need. When she gets imprisoned for helping a woman through an illegal abortion (18th century, y'all I swear some things haven't changed in the world!) she fears her life will end in a dark cell.


That is, until she is summoned to serve as the Royal Physician for Princess Charlotte, who everyone hopes will be queen someday. What becomes an honor, soon becomes a horror as she navigates the glittering secrets of court life and of the upper class she thought she knew. Dances, opulent parties and aristocrats with secrets that could tear her apart are only some of the threats that put Hazel's life in danger.


Not to mention what Hazel can be willing to do to get her love back again.


I don't want to spoil the ending, but this book moved a LOT better than book 1 did and the pages flew by for me with this one, creating a morbidly happy ending in the end for our apparently emotionally detached surgeon girl. The secret society of death with the biggest icons of history was my absolute favorite part of this book not to mention Simon Von Ferris (This dude had my heart during the course of this book!) Also, the amount of pregnant women in this book made me wonder if this book wasn't running on its own agenda LOL, but it was quite the satisfying conclusion for all of those who enjoy some morbid things in our lives :)


Overall: 5/5 stars

bottom of page